Adventures in Instagram

shape quoteRecently I got an Ipad, this meant that I could now join the wonderful world of Instagram. The question was, how to use it, and how to be successful at it. (Granted I am still learning the last bit) I decided to have a page purely for my business, Serendipity Finch Jewellery.

Photographs of the latest products in my shops and various other bits, like quotes. I found out pretty quickly that using # words that specifically described the jewellery were only being found by other jewellery makers. I am still looking for those magic keywords that get customers.

When I was taking photos I found myself wanting to share more of my life, I am a geek and wanted to portray that in Instagram. Obviously, on a business feed I couldn’t post copyrighted material. So I decided on my personal Instagram, angela_ook. (Ook, being a reference to my librarian background). Everything was going swimmingly that is until I was hacked. Yep, hacked, I only found out about it when Instagram kindly sent me a message saying I’d changed my name and password. Nowhere on the internet could I find advice on what to do. I couldn’t log into my account as the password had been changed, and so had the email address associated with it.

I decided to post on my business Instagram what had happened. I asked advice in FB sparkgroups. Eventually, I reported the feed, and got my friends to report it to, saying it had stolen my identity. It was taken down, much to my relief.

I decided to take this whole thing as a learning experience. It did not deter me, I made sure my business Instagram had a new, very, very safe password. And I started up angela_ook again. I tend to put a lot of my work in progress on there, my inspirations, and other thoughts. That feed is more about the jewellery making process than my business one.

On a lighter note, I have put a tutorial for sale in my Etsy shop. marble tutorialThis one is perfect for beginners and teaches how to cage a marble in wire. It is 8 pages long and has clear photographs for each step of the project.

I have also started my creating timetable again to motivate me to make more. This is when I choose a technique or theme to do each day of the week. This helps me not to concentrate on just one method of jewellery making. And so far it is working.

One Comment Add yours

  1. knottedstar says:

    Having also recently joined instagram I am also trying to find the right keywords! It is much harder than I thought!

    Like

Leave a Reply

