Macrame and Morse Code

Since May 2014 my jewellery making has been sporadic at best. This is because I have cornea erosion syndrome, an unusual condition that affects my eyesight. I recently did an awareness piece for The Guardian newspaper, to help others who suffer from the same condition.

I want to get back to all the jewellery making that I once did. So I came up with a plan, to use or learn a different technique every day.

  • Day 1: Dragons
  • Day 2: Macrame
  • Day 3: Wirework
  • Day 4: Kumihimo

Obviously, I can change it and add to it when I want to. So far it is working, 2 dragon ear cuffs now have shapes, and one even has a wing.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Morse_comparison.svg#/media/File:Morse_comparison.svg
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Morse_comparison.svg#/media/File:Morse_comparison.svg

It has been a while since I did macrame, as basically my eyes were just not up to it. I decided to start off with something simple. An idea came to me when I was waiting to go to sleep. Why not use morse code in a macrame necklace? It would be great for men, and I really liked the idea of using a hidden message in jewellery. I tried to do research by asking my male friends what word they would wear, but with no luck. Then on Saturday, after all the horrible events in the world, the word ‘hope’ came into my mind.

Did you know that there are 3 types of Morse code? I decided to use the modern international one, as it is the most recognisable. I wanted a natural feel to the necklace, so used shell and hemp cord. I wanted to do 2 colours, but didn’t want the look of the herringbone weave. Using 2 cords at once is a bit trickier, as sometimes you have to pull them individually.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was a lovely change to complete a piece within one day. It is now available to buy in my Etsy shop.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, that’s brilliant, I learned a little morse code many years ago, just for fun, I remember writing notes to friends and they had to decipher them. 🙂 These would be lovely done with peoples names.
    I really admire your determination 🙂
    Jan (via the Folksy Forum)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I think the names idea is a really good one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

