A Pair of Dragons

After the mammoth task that was the dragon sculpture that I created as a gift for my sister, I decided I wanted to make more dragons. This time I followed the tutorial for a dragon ear cuff by Alison Tarry.

I used the tutorial for the creation of the body and the wings. Though I did put my own spin on wing placement. I spent a lot of time looking at various dragon art books that my husband owns to get a few ideas of tails and faces. I really wanted to give my dragon ear cuffs character. The body is made from viking knit, and it needs to be manipulated to become a dragon shape. After I had attached the wings I thought the dragon needed a bit more colour. My husband suggested I use gemstone chips for the spine to give a feeling of texture. I decided to use apatite. There is something about a gemstone being created of dinosaur bones being used to create a dragon, that I found appealing. Also I just love that shade of blue.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The finished product that I’m fairly sure is a boy dragon, is now available to buy in my Etsy shop.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I wanted to create the second one with a different personality. I gave her smaller wings, and a more snake like head. I used amethyst for her spine and eyes to give her a more feminine look.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think the finished girl dragon has a very different feel to her brother. It is amazing how using the same techniques can create 2 completely different pieces. She is now available to buy in my Etsy shop.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I really enjoy creating these dragons. They have given me so many ideas for variations, and using them in different types of jewellery. I just love dragons.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow this is really unique and creative. Just got into dragons myself ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚ Dragons have so many possibilities, don’t they?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

